A More Focused Book

Photo Phound In My Phone

Photo Phound In My Phone


July 30, 2016 3:35 PM

I know some of you were a little concerned that when I announced the new book concept, that it meant the book was being targeted to newbies—that it was a sort of introduction to all I have learned. The misunderstanding is certainly my fault for the way I worded the post.

The book is targeted to anyone who wants to wake up. By editing out all the “How I Awoke to this Aspect” and “How I Live as this Aspect” sections (and a lot of other distracting, ancillary stuff) the book is turning out to be much more focused.

To give you an idea, here is the How To Use This Book section. First draft disclaimer applies…

How To Use This Book

The premise of this book is simple: What is the surest, most efficient method of attaining the Trans-Enlightened states of consciousness?

This book was seven years in the making, started and discarded at least a dozen times. The result—the distilled essence of all those attempts—is a clear, focused, and step-by-step approach to enlightenment and the amazing realms beyond.

The Nine Aspects

The Nine Aspects of Being are broken up into three tiers: The Human Tier, the Trans-Human Tier, and the Trans-Enlightened Tier.

Each tier consists of three Aspects: A vehicle Aspect, a heart-centic Aspect and a mind-centric Aspect.

Three tiers each consisting of three Aspects: The Nine Aspects of Being.

Each Aspect has its own section and the sections are further broken down as follows:

  • Snapshots From Life: These are excerpts from my blogs and other works that introduce and provide real-world examples of the Aspect in action.
  • The ‘X’ Aspect: The key features of the Aspect. What it is, how it functions, how it is useful. This is the theory section. Before we can work on an Aspect, we have to understand it.
  • The Practices: This is the applied section of the Aspect. Key, targeted practices designed specifically to activate and integrate the Aspect into your daily life. Each Aspect has at least one Yin practice (contemplative, passive, subtle), and one Yang practice (real-world, active, direct).
  • The Moment: While writing this section, I “drop into” the Aspect and describe my lived experience of this moment from the Aspect’s perspective. This first-person account shares a more intimate experience of the Aspect.

Each tier is built on the tier before it. Therefore you should work on the tiers in the following order:

  • The Human Tier
  • The Trans-Human Tier
  • The Trans-Enlightened Tier

No matter where you are in your current level of spiritual development, please take the time to read, understand, and practice the tiers in the order above. You may be tempted to skip the Human Tier, but doing so will make it much more difficult to progress.

It is also recommended that you practice only a single tier at a time. Practice all three Aspects of that tier concurrently (its vehicle, heart and mind Aspects), but only those Aspects of that particular tier.

When the practices of a single tier’s Aspects become second-nature—you’ve come to live and breathe them—only then should you move on to the next tier.

Read the entire book first to see how everything fits together, but only practice one tier (three Aspects) at a time. It will be tempting to take a “pick and choose” approach, but that is just the little ego trying to get its way (Me, me, me, me! I want, I want, I want!). The step-by-step approach—one tier at a time—is far faster, more efficient… and ultimately more rewarding.

I love you. I want you to be happy. If you use this book as described above, your life will change… and you’re going to be a lot happier because of it. And your happiness is all that I want.

It's Time To Wake Up

Mystical Oneness and the Nine Aspects of BeingMystical Oneness and the Nine Aspects of Being is a step-by-step guide to enlightenment and beyond.

Available at:

Amazon - Barnes and Noble - iTunes- Google Play - Kobo

It's Time To Be Happy

The Serentity TechniqueWe live in divisive times.

The Serenity Technique provides 7 simple steps for inner peace… whenever you need it.

Available now on Amazon

It's Time Let Go

My Dying WordsImagine I have only seven days left to live.
Now imagine I share my last thoughts with you.

Available now on Amazon

7 thoughts on “A More Focused Book

    • Thanks Michelle.

      re: Better Trans-Human and Trans-Enlightened labels. Yeah, kind of clunky. I’m open to suggestions (from anyone). Should be descriptive enough to be understandable though.

  1. As a technical writer, I see a kindred spirit in your book draft. I am especially intrigued by the evolution of your “9 Aspect” graphic. You have clearly taken the “technical” vs “poetic” approach to explaining enlightenment. As such, like me, your difficulty in focusing may be due to your status as what has been called an “accidental taxonomist”. Reading the book of the same name (by Heather Hedden – link below) opened my eyes and drastically changed the way I write about my area of expertise. One key thing I learned is that there are two fundamental operations in creating a taxonomy (1) creating a “standardized vocabulary”, ie, glossary of explicit definitions, and (2) using key terms from the vocabulary to build a hierarchical classification system (the taxonomy).

    A major weakness of most of “neo-advaita” books flooding the market is that they fail to define the terms upon which they base their teachings (ego, enlightenment, emotion, suffering, witness, God, etc). Thus, the reader is left to interpret the writings using mostly their own vague ideas and personal biases, ergo, no real learning or spiritual progress. This is true for any technical treatment of a subject; spirituality is nothing special in this regard.

    Please forgive the long-winded intro to a simple question: will your book have a glossary?


    • My wish is to avoid a glossary. One reason is I hope the meaning of my terms would be self-evident in the book, but my main—and quite selfish—reason is that as soon as I pin down a term (define it in a glossary), you know I’m going to want to rename it. Think of all the times I re-named what would eventually be called the TaoGod(I) Aspect.

      But your points are valid (damn it), so, while I’m not committing to it, I’ve added the glossary to the outline so as not to forget it.

      Thanks! (sort of) 🙂

  2. I understand. Many years ago I created a term/definition that was catchy but somewhat vague, and now every time I see it reproduced in the literature I cringe. The more clearly you see the subject, the more you want to refine not only the names but the definitions (your evolving illustration is an example). Relying on the context to create self-evident definitions does not work so well in practice because our biases are persistent. On page 10 I read what you mean by TaoGod(I) and by page 35, when I see the term again, I have forgotten and am confused because my persistent idea of God does not jive with what you are saying. Now what do I do? Try to find what I read before (was it page 10 or 15?) or just look it up in the glossary?

    This is perhaps one reason some authors use Sanskrit terms (ie, to avoid preconceptions). On the other hand, as soon as I read a term I don’t recognize or understand (and the definition is not evident), I disengage a little. If that happens often enough, I stop reading.

    The only alternative is to use poetry, and leave all the definitions up to the reader.

    It is the teacher’s dilemma.

    Good luck. I am really looking forward to your finished book.

Leave a Comment